It’s been a busy fall

The new semester started off well and I have been getting to know colleagues and students across the Arcadia campus.  I have been pleased to be part of several events for prospective students, at which I now sport a pair of custom-designed Chucks!

My work at Arcadia is to serve, essentially, as an academic dean of students, ensuring that policies are in place to support the students’ academic progress.  I have a wonderful and dedicated staff.

On the scholarly front, I have presented a paper at the UK Women’s History Network conference as well as a seminar for the Centre for the History of Women’s Education at the University of Winchester.  I was honored to participate in the graduation ceremony of Zoe Milsom, one of the Centre’s Ph.D. students, in November.  Just after Thanksgiving, I will return to Winchester for the History of Education Society’s conference, at which I am presenting a poster entitled “‘Future Perfect’:  Co-ed Magazine as a Source of Informal Education for American Teens”.  Co-ed Magazine billed itself as “The Magazine for Career Girls and Homemakers of Tomorrow” and offered instruction in domestic skills, dating and relationship advice, and information about a range of careers.

Leave a comment